Lando Norris claims all three pole positions at Spa-Francorchamps

Lando Norris (Carlin) remains unbeatable at the 7.004 kilometres long Formula 1 circuit of Spa-Francorchamps. In second qualifying, he came out on top once more. Behind the Brit, who is supported by the McLaren Formula 1 team, Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) and Guanyu Zhou (Prema Powerteam) ended up second and third respectively. Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam), the leader in the drivers’ standings, was classified fourth. In the ranking of the second-fastest laps, used to determine the starting grid positions for the third race of the weekend, the order in the first four positions again was Norris from Ilott, Zhou and Günther.

Starting grid race two 
Like in first qualifying, the asphalt at Spa-Francorchamps also was dry for second qualifying of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship. Around the halfway point, Mick Schumacher (Prema Powerteam, 2m12.457s) ranked on top, but Lando Norris (2m11.120s) soon toppled him. As Callum Ilott (2m11.291s) came within a few thousandths of a second from the Carlin driver with only four minutes remaining, Norris upped the ante once more and extended his margin. Then, his second pole position of the weekend was no longer in danger.

Ilott was classified second from Guanyu Zhou (2m11.684s), Maximilian Günther (2m11.773s), Jakes Hughes (Hitech Grand Prix, 2m11.823s), Nikita Mazepin (Hitech Grand Prix, 2m11.830s), Jehan Daruvala (Carlin, 2m11.891s), Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin, 2m11.921s), Ralf Aron (Hitech Grand Prix, 2m11.942s) and Pedro Piquet (Van Amersfoort Racing, 2m12.050s).

Starting grid race three 
The second-fastest lap for each driver is used as the basis for the starting grid positions for the third race. In this ranking, first place also went to Lando Norris (2m11.307s). Callum Ilott (2m11.388s) was just 0.081 seconds slower than his British compatriot and ended up second. Guanyu Zhou (2m11.780s), Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam, 2m11.781s), Jakes Hughes (2m11.906s), Jehan Daruvala (2m11.912s), Ralf Aron (2m11.958s), Ferdinand Habsburg (2m11.959s), Harrison Newey (Van Amersfoort Racing, 2m12.210s) and Joel Eriksson (2m12.276s) rounded out the top ten.

Lando Norris (Carlin): “We managed to improve the car and in second qualifying, the track was also faster than in the first session. It was always clear that the times late in the afternoon would be faster than in first qualifying earlier on. This time, I also found a slipstream which I think was the key to both pole positions. I am very happy with this pair of first places, especially as this means that I have claimed all three pole positions at Spa. The three races will surely be a lot of fun.”