Prema Powerteam defends the team title

In the 2017 season, the Prema Powerteam once again proved to be invincible and secured the team title in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship. The points for the title were scored by Maximilian Günther, Callum Ilott, Guanyu Zhou and rookie Mick Schumacher.

At the end of the 30-race season, the Italian squad had 127 points more on their tally than the second placed Team Carlin who won the FIA Formula 3 European Championship drivers’ and rookie titles courtesy of Lando Norris.

The Prema Powerteam shone first of all with their well-balanced driver line-up, with every Prema driver securing one podium at least. Maximilian Günther made it to the podium in 16 races and in five of these races to the top step as the winning driver. The 20-year old German who did not only contest the FIA Formula 3 European Championship season but also was the test and reserve driver for the Mercedes-AMG DTM Team, finished third in the championship, thus being the best-placed Prema driver.  18-year old Briton Callum Ilott, who finished fourth in the championship, right behind Günther, secured 11 podiums and 10 pole positions. No other driver started into a race from pole more often than the new Ferrari Junior.

Guanyu Zhou, who already has been promoted by Ferrari for several years clinched five podiums. In his second FIA Formula 3 European Championship season, the Chinese finished eighth in the championship.  In the season finale at the Hockenheimring, the 18-year old came third in two of the three races. Meanwhile, Mick Schumacher who advanced from Formula 4  to the FIA Formula 3 European Championship was the only rookie of the four Prema drivers. The also 18-year old experienced a typical rookie season, with his podium at Monza being the season highlight. He finished 12th in the championship and third in the rookie classification behind Lando Norris and Jehan Daruvala (Carlin). With this result he outperformed – just – his former Formula 4 rival Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing) and consequently, he finished the season as best of the drivers who advanced to the FIA Formula 3 European Championship from Formula 4.